Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Received)
    Blog Entries
    Mentioned
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted

Default LED vs. Incandescent - let the fight begin

Ok, there are probably dozens of other threads out there, but I can't find them tonight. With good prices at CDI now and since I'm just starting out and also thinking long term, I need to really decide about Incandescent vs. LEDs. So what's your input? Why do you have one or the other? Or do you mix? And some people just don't like them... why is that?

LEDs:
    Pros:
    - Last a really long time
    - brighter
    - when one BULB goes out, only that one bulb goes out
    - Use a LOT less electricity to run

Cons:
    - Some can't be dimmed
    - "fake white" for those that keep track
    - more expensive

Incandescents:
    Pros:
    - available everywhere
    - inexpensive
    - "Yellow white" is the normal color

Cons:
    - short life span
    - when one bulb goes out, all of them in that section go out
    - "Yellow white" is the normal color
    - Use more electricity to run

Other thoughts?

Ding Ding!!
    - Scott M.

Status
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Received)
    Mentioned
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted

Default Re: LED vs. Incandescent - let the fight begin

I ran a combination last year. All things considered, I like the LEDs.

• Color
      Blue LEDs don't fade like incandescent bulbs.
      I think the color of LEDs is more brilliant.
      White LEDs?... I prefer the soft look of the incandescent bulbs.
    • My LEDs had a little rust on them at the end of the season, but they didn't fail.
    • Less power means more channels... more lights.
    • There are ways around the problems with dimming LEDs.
      To be honest, I haven't had a whole lot of trouble dimming the LEDs
      Dimming curves help.
      I keep the triacs relatively close to the LED strands. LEDs are light electrical loads. I have found