Status
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Received)
    Mentioned
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted

Default fm transmitter

Since I am new to the convention and LOR what kind of transmitter do I need? I need it to transmit several hundred feet

Status
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Received)
    Mentioned
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted

Default Re: fm transmitter

This is the one I bought. It's pretty strong hope it don't bite me lol. It cranks way out.

http://www.mobileblackbox.com/content/view/43/77/
    Shannon Wood
    XLights 4 User with 40,000 channels and 60,000 lights.
    Facebook | Vimeo | Twitter

Status
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Received)
    Blog Entries
    Mentioned
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted

There are two lower cost transmitters that are favorites here:

Ramsey FM25B http://www.ramseyelectronics.com/cgi...tion&key=FM25B

EDM http://www.edmdesign.com/index.html

They are both sold as kits but the EDM is mostly built. The assembly takes about 5 minutes (or less) and requires soldering the power connector (3 wires) and plugging one microchip into it's socket. Most models come with case and power supply but check when you order.

There are also models of both unit with added features for a little more cost. The EDM with the display and the Ramsey FM30B are examples. They are the same as the entry models but with displays added ..

There are sellers on eBay that offer the Ramsey fully assembled for a few bucks more. There's one up on eBay now for $160, assembled. Ramsey is my personal favorite.

You can get at least 200 feet or more with the attached antenna on the Ramsey. I am not sure if the EDM has a small attached antenna.

If you want to buy a reliable antenna for more distance, I recommend this tunable quarter wave model: http://www.fmdxantenna.com/products.php?cat=7

For those that want to kick out a half mile or more, add the Ramsey inline amp to any existing FM transmitter (and good antenna)